john daversa: artful joy

John Daversa - Artful Joy

Buy Album From Amazon Amazon Icon

Buy Album From iTunes iTunes Icon

On the heels of 2011’s high-energy, take-no-prisoners, boundary-stretching Junk Wagon: The Big Band Album, acclaimed L.A.-based trumpeter-composer-arranger John Daversa scales things back for his upbeat follow up, Artful Joy.  “It was difficult trying to find the right album name for this one,” says Daversa, who has been leading a big band and small group concurrently for the past six years. “I didn’t realize how much in the spirit of deep happiness and joy that it was until it was done. It’s been a very fertile, wonderful year and I think this album is a reflection of that.”


Special guests Bob Mintzer and Gretchen Parlato appear on two tracks alongside Daversa’s working group of tenor saxophonist Robby Marshall, keyboardists Tommy King and Brandon Coleman, guitarist Zane Carney, bassist Jerry Watts and drummer Gene Coye.

Preview Tracks

1. Seven Grand

10. Good To Be Alive

11. Some Happy Sh*t

2. Shelleys Guitar

3. No Frets No Worries

4. Hara Angelina feat. Gretchen Parlatto

5. C'mon Robby Marshall

6. Rhythm Changers feat. Bob Mintzer

7. Moonlight Muse

8. Players Only

9. Flirty Girl